Schothorst Feed Research has a rich history that dates back to the 1930s. In the 1930s, the production of compound feed in the Netherlands started up. Urged by their (farming) members, agricultural organizations and cooperatives decided that it was time to establish a monitoring body for compound feed. In 1934, the 'Stichting C.L.O-Controle' was established. In 1938, this foundation obtained its own research farm and founded the 'Instituut voor de Veevoeding De Schothorst’ (Institute for livestock feed The Schothorst) in Hoogland, Amersfoort, the Netherlands.
In 1978, ‘De Schothorst’ estate was left due to the urban expansion of Amersfoort. The institute was given 88 hectares of ground near Lelystad on a long-term lease, which became ownership in 1998.
The Stichting C.L.O Controle was disbanded on July 1, 2002, and parts of the activities of this foundation were taken over by De Schothorst. This included maintaining the nutritional requirements for compound feeds set out in the current ‘Schothorst feed recommendations’. The C.L.O feedstuff table became the ‘Schothorst feedstuff table’. The derived nutrient program was kept in the same format. Schothorst Quality Consultants took over auditing, consulting and certification. A strategic partner was found in Lloyds’ Register, which allows us to offer certification-related services.
As of January 1, 2004, research, consultancy and quality control activities were privatized in Schothorst Feed Research. On July 1, 2005, the 'Vereniging Voorlichting Mengvoederindustrie' (association for information for the compound feed industry, VVM) joined Schothorst Feed Research. From 2008 to 2012, the ruminants, swine, and poultry facilities were renovated and expanded.